Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Head's Message
EE Office

about ee

The Department of Electrical Engineering (EE) is one of the major Departments of IIT Bombay since its inception in 1958. The department is very active in teaching and research in the areas of Communications and Signal Processing, Control and Computing, Power Electronics and Power Systems, Microelectronics and VLSI design, and Electronic Systems.
Here is the Department vision.

The department has academic programs with about 500 undergraduate and 550 postgraduate students. The department is equipped with the state of the art experimental and computational facilities for undertaking R & D and consultancy activities in various fields.

The current Head of the Department is Prof. Baylon G. Fernandes

Major Achievements and Honors

Faculty members of the department are recipients of many distinguished awards such as Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, Prof. K. Sreenivasan Memorial Award, Prof. SVC Aiya Memorial Award, Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Research Award, Ram Lal Wadhwa Award, INAE Young Engineer Award, Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship and many others. Many faculty members are Editors of IEEE and other national and international journals. They are also Fellows of organizations like IEEE, IETE, INAE, IASc, NASI and INSA. Some of the distingushed awards are listed below.

IEEE Fellowship

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize

J.C.Bose Fellowship

Major Donations and Funding

The department has received generous contributions from several donors in the past.The department received major donation from one of its alumni- Girish Gaitonde in the year 2000. Many sponsored research projects are being undertaken in the department. Currently, 12 projects have major funding with budget more than Rs.1 crore each. Ministry of Human Resources Development, Department of Electronics and Information Technology, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Department of Science and Technology, Defence Research Development Organization, Indian Space Research Organization, Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Ltd, Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd, L&T Infotech, Tata Teleservices, Bharti, Texas Instruments, Intel, Microsoft Research, Tata Consultancy Services, Applied Materials (USA) and Hitachi (Japan) are the major funding agencies. Significant fundings which have made valuable contributions to the department are as follows.