Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

EE1: Communications and Signal Processing
The Communication and Signal Processing Group has been active in various research areas: Wireless Communication, Microwave RF, Antenna, Signal Processing, Fiber Optics and Photonics, Communication Networks, Computer Vision, Media processing, Image Processing. There are 16 faculty members. Major labs where research is conducted are Antennas and Microwave Laboratory, Bharti Centre for Communication, Communications Laboratory and Digital Audio Processing Laboratory, Information Networks Laboratory, Tata Teleservices - IITBombay Center for Excellence in Telecommunication.

EE2: Control and Computing
The activities of the Control and Computing Group include Automatic control, Computational methods for systems theory, Graph and matroid decompositions, Cryptography and coding theory, Dynamical systems, Grobner basis methods. There are 14 faculty members. Major labs where research is conducted is Control and Computation Laboratory.

EE3: Power Electronics and Power Systems
An important aspect of the group's program is the integration of power electronics with the study of power systems. The group is actively providing research and development support for the national electric power infrastructure. There are 8 faculty members. Major labs where research is conducted are Field Computation Laboratory, Electrical Machines Laboratory, Power Electronics Laboratories and Power Anser Laboratory.

EE4: Microelectronics and VLSI
Research activities in the Microelectronics Group span a wide range of areas: physics, technology, characterization, modeling, simulation, design, and CAD tools. The Group is a part of the Center of Excellence in Nanoelectronics. In addition to the microelectronics group faculty members, over 15 faculty members from 8 different departments/schools take part in the Nanoelectronics center activities. This Center of Excellence in Nanoelectronics is one of the two centres created in the country through an initiative from the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology. There are 17 faculty members. Major labs where research is conducted are Fabrication Clean Room, VLSI Laboratory, Applied Materials Nano-manufacturing, Laboratory, Microelectronics Characterization and Simulation and Computational Lab.

EE5: Electronic Systems
The research areas being pursued by the Electronic Systems Group are Embedded System design, Signal processing, Biomedical Electronics, Electronic Instrumentation, and Audio and Speech Processing. There are 9 faculty members. Major labs where research is conducted are Wadhwani Electronics Lab, Texas Instruments Digital Signal Processing Lab, Printed Circuit Board Lab, and Signal Processing and Instrumentation Lab.